Erskine Park High School logo

Erskine Park High School

Erskine Park High School

Pride in Achievement

Telephone02 9834 3536

Technological and applied studies

Technological and applied studies (TAS) is mandatory for all students in Year 7 and 8. Students can also select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

In TAS, students develop knowledge, understanding and skills through a design and production process using a range of tools, materials and techniques in theory and practical lessons.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • mandated from Kindergarten to Year 8 through Science and Technology K-6 and Technology Mandatory Years 7-8 syllabuses
  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to apply knowledge, skills and understanding to design and produce solutions
  • optional for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design.

Technological and applied studies (TAS) at Erskine Park High School is divided into two faculties, TAS 1 - home economics and TAS 2 - industrial arts.

Courses offered


Years 7 and 8

  • Agriculture technology
  • Technology (mandatory)

Years 9 and 10

  • Childhood studies
  • Food technology
  • Agricultural technology

Years 11 and 12

  • Community and family studies
  • Hospitality (VET)
  • Primary industries (VET)
  • Agriculture
  • Food technology
  • Exploring early childhood


Years 7 and 8

  • Technology (mandatory)

Years 9 and 10

  • Information software and technology
  • Industrial technology - Graphics
  • Industrial technology - Timber
  • Industrial technology - Metal

Years 11 and 12

  • Information processes and technology
  • Design and technology
  • Industrial technology - Timber
  • Industrial technology - multimedia
  • Construction (VET)

Teaching staff


  • Mr G Odei - Head Teacher
  • Miss J Hutchen - Kitchen Assistant¬†¬†
  • Mrs J Battle
  • Mr B Flack
  • Ms R Lawson
  • Mr A Sheen
  • Mrs K Stuttle
  • Mr W Tabone
  • Ms C Harper
  • Ms K Kumar
  • Ms A Viemero